Sew Right

I hate to sew. Needle and thread practically gives me nightmares.

So?

Alot of the crochet patterns I like, especially those involving granny squares involve joining. Ugh!!! Just the thing to spoil a perfectly good bag or afghan.

Most times they don’t just say join, no that would be too easy. They ask for

 a whip stitch,

an overhand stitch,

mattress stitch,

lazy daisy stitch,

running stitch.

There are more, I can’t remember most of them much less do any of them. Most of the time I try to figure out how to do the project as one piece but sometimes there is just no way out.

Anyone out there know how to do these stitches? Or have as much trouble as me with them?

I NEED HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 responses to “Sew Right

  1. I don’t know what kind of stitches are those. I simply join my squares by using single crochet(sc) on the back side of the squares. 🙂

  2. I used to hate squares because of the sewing. But there are many patterns that include a join as you go. In addition, other people have made crochet joining as part of the design like the “Dudessembly” created by Drew. You can access it at his free pattern website here here or at his lulu.com account here.

    Now I only hate squares because of all those pesky ends that have to be sewed in.

  3. I didn’t know what kind of stitches these were either. In fact I still don’t know what most of them are, I have recently become aquainted with the Whip Stitch.

    I would live to just join with a sc but then I don’t know if it will alter the outcome, one project asked for the individual squares to be joined with the Lazy Daisy to make panels and the panels to be joined using the running stitch.

    If a project calls for one stitch like that one that asked for the mattress stitch, I joined how I wanted.

Leave a Reply

